Life aboard the Spicy

On this page, Le Spicy reveals itself through its walks and activities, along the waterways of the Meaux region.

Take a trip with us!


The history of Spicy, from 1928 to today

1928 - Construction of the OST FRIESLAND (East Friesland) as a surveillance and traffic vehicle, at the EMDEN shipyards in North-West Germany (under the Weimar Empire until 1933).

He remained there until 1938. We assume that he was assigned to guard the Wadden Sea coast and the mouth of the Ems River by the German police or customs.

1940.09.28 - OST FRIESLAND appears under the German Reich with registration B101Mo during a transfer from Boulogne Sur Mer (Pas de Calais) to Dieppe (Seine-Maritime). It was probably requisitioned by the Kriegsmarine (German navy between 1935 and 1945).

11.26.1940 - The OST FRIESLAND is sighted probably fleeing to Emden. It stops in Amsterdam (Netherlands) and will remain there.

04.06.1942 - OST FRIESLAND is assigned to the 4th Flotillen Stammabteilung of the Amsterdam training company stock. This unit is responsible for training Matrosen (sailors) for port protection and river surveillance.

09.03.1943 - OST FRIESLAND is moved to the 12th Landungs-Flottille (Landing Flotilla) in Antwerp (Belgium). In September 1944, the flotilla was used in the Scheldt estuary to reinforce, supply and land the 15th Army.

18.06.1948 - We find the OST FRIESLAND listed in the Dutch land register under number 838B in The Hague, as belonging to the State of the Netherlands, in the Finance Bureau department as war prey.

11.11.1948 - The OST FRIESLAND is bought by a boatman in Maastricht.

It changed its name several times, to Vision II, Callenburgh and finally Spicy under its last owner, a Swiss national.

October 2022 - Solenn and Patrice buy the Spicy, parked in Carrière-sous-Poissy, and decide to keep its name.

April 2023 - Solenn and Patrice sail the Spicy back to its new home port, accompanied by Claude Mesey, on a journey along the Seine and Marne rivers, from Poissy to Meaux, via Paris (you can read the story of this journey in the article at the very bottom of the page).

Spicy design on the bow

Passage of Spicy, seen from the beach at Meaux

When you head out on the water with the Spicy, you're bound to come across something, like a flock of starlings or a little moorhen reluctant to jump into autumn-fresh water.

Starling cloud
To go or not to go?

Stroll on the Marne, as the river flows ...


Breakfast, when the sun's already up, is like that on the Spicy!


End of April 2023

Departure from Poissy for the convoying and running-in of the 2023 season on the Spicy. Average weather, rain and sunshine. Great atmosphere. Everyone on board is clearly enjoying the sailing. Passage of the first Seine lock and subsequent locks without a hitch. The Spicy's new owners had prepared the route and stops superbly. The meals and snacks delighted the taste buds, and the drinks were just right for the weather. Warm when it rained and thirst-quenching when it was hot. After an overnight stay at the Van Gogh port in Asnières and a hearty breakfast, we set off for Paris in mixed weather. Friends joined us on board. The magic happens right away. Magnificent bridges, buildings, quays and the cathedral of Notre Dame, which even when wounded, moves us as we pass. Then we enter the Marne. Another meal is shared at the first pontoon before the lock. Here, the captain pulls out all the stops: charcuterie platter, cheeses, crudités, desserts. All accompanied by fine French wines. Yum, a great moment of sharing. We then resumed navigation on the Marne. We passed through locks and a tunnel to arrive at Joinville le Pont, where the harbourmaster had reserved a superb place for us to share. After a friendly drink, the Friends who had boarded at Asnière left the boat with their eyes filled with marvels and unforgettable memories. And I, the former captain of the Spicy, take the TGV back to new landscapes... Proud of the crew who will keep this magnificent old boat alive. Merciiiii....

Mesey Claude from Blonay - May 5, 2023

La vie à bord du Spicy

Le Spicy se dévoile sur cette page au gré de ses balades et de ses activités, au fil de l’eau du pays de Meaux.

Partez en voyage avec nous !!


L’histoire du Spicy, de 1928 à aujourd’hui

1928 – Construction de l’OST FRIESLAND (Frise-Orientale) comme véhicule de surveillance et de circulation, aux chantiers navals de EMDEN, au Nord-Ouest de l’Allemagne (sous l’Empire de Weimar jusqu’en 1933).

Il y reste jusqu’en 1938. Nous supposons qu’il était affecté à la surveillance des côtes de la mer des Wadden et de l’embouchure de la rivière Ems par la police ou la douane allemande.

28.09.1940 – L’OST FRIESLAND apparaît sous le Reich Allemand avec l’immatriculation B101Mo lors d’un transfert de Boulogne Sur Mer (Pas de Calais) à Dieppe (Seine-Maritime). Il est alors probablement réquisitionné par la Kriegsmarine (marine de guerre allemande entre 1935 et 1945)

26.11.1940 – L’OST FRIESLAND est aperçu en fuite probable vers Emden. Il s’arrête à Amsterdam (Pays-Bas) et y restera.

04.06.1942 – L’OST FRIESLAND est affecté à la 4eme Flotillen Stammabteilung du stock de la société de formation à Amsterdam. Cette unité est chargée de l’instruction des Matrosen (matelots) destinés à la protection des ports et à la surveillance des cours d’eau.

09.03.1943 – L’OST FRIESLAND est déplacé à la 12e Landungs-Flottille (Flottille de débarquement) à Anvers (Belgique). En septembre 1944, la flottille fut utilisée dans l’estuaire de l’Escaut pour renforcer, ravitailler et débarquer la 15e armée.

18.06.1948 – Nous retrouvons l’OST FRIESLAND inscrit au cadastre Hollandais sous le registre 838B de la Haye, comme appartenant à l’état des Pays-Bas, au département Finance Bureau comme Proie de guerre.

11.11.1948 – L’OST FRIESLAND est acheté par un batelier à Maastricht.

Il change plusieurs fois de nom pour s’appeler Vision II, Callenburgh et enfin Spicy par son dernier propriétaire, de nationalité Suisse.

Octobre 2022 – Solenn et Patrice achètent le Spicy, stationné à Carrière-sous-Poissy, et décident de garder son nom.

Avril 2023 – Solenn et Patrice remontent le Spicy vers son nouveau port d’attache, au cours d’un périple le long de la Seine puis de la Marne, de Poissy à Meaux, en passant par Paris (vous pouvez lire l’histoire de ce périple dans l’article tout en bas de page).

dessin du Spicy présent sur la proue

Passage du Spicy, vu depuis la plage de Meaux

Quand on part sur les flots avec le Spicy, on peut faire de belles rencontres, comme un nuage d’étourneaux ou une petite poule d’eau qui hésite à sauter dans une eau rafraîchie par l’automne.

Nuage d’étourneaux
J’y vais ou j’y vais pas ?

Balade sur la Marne, au fil des flots …


Le petit-dèj, quand le soleil est déjà levé, ça se passe comme ça sur le Spicy !


Fin avril 2023

Départ de Poissy pour le convoyage et rodage de la saison 2023 sur le Spicy. Temps moyen, pluie et soleil. Ambiance au beau fixe. La joie de naviguer de tout le monde à bord se fait bien sentir. Passage montant de la première écluse de Seine sans problème de même que les suivantes. Les nouveaux propriétaire du Spicy ont super bien préparé le trajet et ses haltes. Les repas et collations ont ravis les papilles, les boissons adéquates avec la météo. Tantôt chaudes en cas de pluie et désaltérantes lorsqu’il fait chaud. Après une nuitée au port Van Gogh d’Asnières et un bon petit déjeuner, nous attaquons la traversée de Paris par une météo mitigée. Des Amis nous ont rejoint à bord. La magie opère tout de suite. Que de magnifiques ponts, bâtiments , quais et la cathédrales de Notre Dame qui même blessée, nous émeut au passage. Puis c’est l’entrée dans la Marne. Un nouveau repas est partagé au premier ponton avant l’écluse. Là, la capitaine à sorti le grand jeu; plateau de charcuterie, fromages, crudités, desserts. Tout cela accompagné de bons vins de France. Miam, un grand moment de partage. Puis reprise de la navigation sur la Marne. Passage d’écluses, et tunnel pour arriver à Joinville le Pont, où le capitaine du port nous avait réservé une superbe place à couple. Après un petit verre d’amitié, les Amis montés à bord à Asnière, quittent le bateau les yeux remplis de merveilles et de souvenirs inoubliables. Et, moi l’ancien capitaine du Spicy reprend le TGV pour de nouveaux paysages.. Fier de l’équipage qui fera vivre ce magnifique vieux bateau. Merciiiii….

Mesey Claude de Blonay – 5 mai 2023